Type@Cooper


 

The Continuing Education Department of The Cooper Union, in conjunction with the Type Directors Club, offers a Postgraduate Certificate in Typeface Design.

Top industry professionals lead a highly focused and comprehensive study of key typeface design principles: technique, technology, aesthetics, expression, history, and theory. Students explore the foundation of typography in depth by creating their own typefaces in hands-on classes, while developing a broad understanding of the field through lectures, discussions, and research. Electives are offered each term, focusing on topics such as pen and brush lettering, Python programming, and advanced tools for font development. A series of guest lectures round out the curriculum, allowing students deeper insight into specific relevant topics.

Participants leave the program with the specialized skills to design professional-quality digital typefaces and lettering.



 

apply before June 9


Applications for admission to the 2015-16 Extended program are due at midnight of Monday, June 8, 2015. Read more…

To receive notifications when new events are announced join our Mailing list.


A conference for people who use type.

Free Upcoming Public Lectures

Check out more lectures


Upcoming Public Workshops

Type@Cooper - Responsive Design & Web Typography
Responsive Design & Web Typography
with Nick Sherman

Public workshop
Tue. Oct. 13 – Tue, Nov. 24, 2015
6:30 PM – 9:30 PM

Type@Cooper - The Mechanics of Typographic Space
The Mechanics of Typographic Space
with Alexander Tochilovsky

Public workshop
Tue. Oct. 13 – Tue, Dec. 08, 2015
6:30 PM – 9:30 PM

Type@Cooper - Principles of Typeface Design: Beyond the Basics
Principles of Typeface Design: Beyond the Basics
with Hannes F. Famira

Public workshop
Wed. Oct. 14 – Wed, Nov. 11, 2015
6:30 PM – 9:30 PM

Type@Cooper - Calligraphy: The Italic Hand
Calligraphy: The Italic Hand
with Cara Di Edwardo

Public workshop
Wed. Oct. 14 – Wed, Dec. 09, 2015
6:30 PM – 9:30 PM

Type@Cooper - Principles of Typeface Design - Pen to Pixel
Principles of Typeface Design - Pen to Pixel
with Hannes F. Famira

Thu. Oct. 15 – Thu, Dec. 10, 2015
6:30 PM – 9:30 PM

Type@Cooper - Drawn Letters
Drawn Letters
with Ken Barber

Elective for Extended program students and open to the public for a fee (space permitting)
Sat. Oct. 17 – Sun, Oct. 18, 2015
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Script Lettering
Script Lettering
with Ken Barber

Elective for Extended program students and open to the public for a fee (space permitting)
Sat. Oct. 24 – Sun, Oct. 25, 2015
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Proportions
Proportions
with John Downer

Elective for Extended program students and open to the public for a fee (space permitting)
Sat. Oct. 31 – Sun, Nov. 01, 2015
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Sign Painting: Speed Stroke Brush Lettering
Sign Painting: Speed Stroke Brush Lettering
with John Downer

Elective for Extended program students and open to the public for a fee (space permitting)
Sat. Nov. 07 – Sun, Nov. 08, 2015
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Drawn Letters
Drawn Letters
with Ken Barber

Elective for Extended program students and open to the public for a fee (space permitting)
Sat. Nov. 14 – Sun, Nov. 15, 2015
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Brush Lettering
Brush Lettering
with Ken Barber

Elective for Extended program students and open to the public for a fee (space permitting)
Sat. Nov. 21 – Sun, Nov. 22, 2015
9:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Script Lettering
Script Lettering
with Ken Barber

Elective for Extended program students and open to the public for a fee (space permitting)
Sat. Dec. 05 – Sun, Dec. 06, 2015
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Check out more public workshops