Type@Cooper


 

The Continuing Education Department of The Cooper Union, in conjunction with the Type Directors Club, offers a Postgraduate Certificate in Typeface Design.

Top industry professionals lead a highly focused and comprehensive study of key typeface design principles: technique, technology, aesthetics, expression, history, and theory. Students explore the foundation of typography in depth by creating their own typefaces in hands-on classes, while developing a broad understanding of the field through lectures, discussions, and research. Electives are offered each term, focusing on topics such as pen and brush lettering, Python programming, and advanced tools for font development. A series of guest lectures round out the curriculum, allowing students deeper insight into specific relevant topics.

Participants leave the program with the specialized skills to design professional-quality digital typefaces and lettering.



 

apply before Mar. 1


Applications for admission to the 2015 Condensed program are due at midnight of Sunday, March 1, 2015. Read more…

Upcoming Public Events

Type@Cooper - Principles of Typeface Design: From Pen to Pixel
Principles of Typeface Design: From Pen to Pixel
with Hannes F. Famira

Public workshop
Mon. Feb. 02 – Mon, Mar. 30, 2015
6:30 PM – 9:30 PM

Type@Cooper - Principles of Typeface Design 2: Beyond the Basics
Principles of Typeface Design 2: Beyond the Basics
with Hannes F. Famira

Public workshop
Wed. Feb. 04 – Wed, Mar. 04, 2015
6:30 PM – 9:30 PM

Type@Cooper - The Mechanics of Typographic Space
The Mechanics of Typographic Space
with Alexander Tochilovsky

Public workshop
Wed. Feb. 04 – Wed, Apr. 08, 2015
6:30 PM – 9:30

Type@Cooper - Calligraphy: The Italic Hand
Calligraphy: The Italic Hand
with Cara Di Edwardo

Public workshop
Wed. Feb. 04 – Wed, Apr. 08, 2015
6:30 PM – 9:30 PM

Type@Cooper - Font Production For An Expanding Family
Font Production For An Expanding Family
with Andy Clymer

Elective for Extended program students and open to the public for a fee (space permitting)
Sat. Mar. 14 – Sun, Mar. 15, 2015
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Basic Python Programming for Typeface Design
Basic Python Programming for Typeface Design
with Ben Kiel

Elective for Extended program students and open to the public for a fee (space permitting)
Sat. Mar. 28 – Sun, Mar. 29, 2015
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Script Lettering
Script Lettering
with Ken Barber

Public workshop
Sat. Apr. 25 – Sun, Apr. 26, 2015
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Found Lettering
Found Lettering
with Ken Barber

Public workshop
Mon. Jun. 15 – Thu, Jun. 18, 2015
9:00 AM – 4:00 PM

Check out more public workshops and lectures